Sentimental Journey

tube pulls

A bin of tube pulls was sitting on a forgotten shelf when it called for me to take a photo. I felt a bit guilty that all of these great old tubes were languishing in a bin and looking rather solemn.  They used to burn bright, calling their home the inside of gleaming chassis of vintage Fisher, Scott, Eico and other cool tube gear I owned, at various times, in my audiophile journey for knowledge.  At the time, I probably pulled a tube (or two) with the intention of installing a new one, or I was doing other neurotic audiophile things.  Before I knew it, years later, I had a box of used tubes.

Now, shuffling through the tubes, I couldn’t help but wonder what historically significant radio speeches and amazing music they must have amplified within the homes of families decades ago…

tube grain

Leave a Reply

