Summit

Pablo

Jonathan Halpern called me a few days ago with some Pablo recording recommendations, at exactly the same moment I was in the process of thumbing through some delicious Pablo recordings on my LP shelf.  Cool when that happens.

For those unfamiliar with Pablo Recordings, it was founded in late 70’s by Norman Granz. Norman was the founder of Verve Records in 1956.  You know, that little label that represented some of the greatest Jazz performers in the history or recorded music.  He then founded Pablo Records in 1973.

If you don’t have any Pablo Records in your collection, I urge you to do so.  They are plentiful, and cheap.  Sonically, they are all fantastic.  Big, wet, juicy, dense, organic, palpable and a completely open window to the music event.  I love’em.  The paying is the stuff of legend and the musicians are at the top of their game.  At this point in their career, these guys and girls are finely aged, much like a burnished heirloom or the brassing of metal on a fine camera housing.  Japanese call this Wabi Sabi, btw.  I love that, don’t you?  There is a deeper musical wisdom here than any other time in their history of playing – the interplay and musical knowledge they portray within these recordings is phenomenal.

Spinning today at the shop – The Trumpet Summit – this one cooks! Ray Brown’s insane walking bass lines keeps side one moving while Dizzy, Freddie Hubbard, Clark Terry, Oscar Peterson, Joe Pass & Bobby Durham strut their stuff.  Dig it!

Turntable shown is the LignoLab 401 – a vinyl spinning masterpiece composed of the following components:  LignoLab plinth, Garrard 401, EMT 997 tone-arm, Shindo precision bearing/platter/mat/tuned weight, Shindo SPU cartridge and Shindo signal cable.

5 thoughts on “Summit

  1. Thanks for the tip Matt. I’ve often seen Pablo records around but never tried them. My friend Aleks also sings their praises so I’ll check em out. By the way, I’m listening almost exclusively to 50s-60s bebop jazz since I got into Shindo, it’s almost scary how the textures and tonality of trumpets and saxes come through. Rock and classical on my system, sound fine, but it really comes alive with jazz, its almost like Shindo was specifically voiced for jazz. Is Ken San a jazz fan by chance?

  2. Man,you got that right.
    I have never heard brass instruments reproduced in such a lifelike manner as I am now.
    What really did it for me was the addition of the LingoLab stand.It seems like I can hear the various reeds of each brass (and woodwind) instrument played.They just come alive and sound real and distinct in the most intoxicating fashion.
    Shindo is definitely simpatico with jazz.

  3. In exploring the Pablo catalog, keep an eye out for Zoot Sims LPs with Jimmy Rowles on piano. I believe that Zoot’s best records are on Pablo. Look for “Warm Tenor” and If I’m Lucky”. Sumblime jazz – made all the more so through Shindo.

  4. Hey Chuck as luck would have it, I snagged Zoot Sims’ If I’m lucky at my local record shop the other day. I also found Dizzy Gillespie’s Hot Five. These were my first two Pablos and you’re right, they cook! Wonderful sound, very alive sounding, a soundstage that is immense and deep. Shindo San must have been playing these older Jazz records when he was voicing his gear. Thanks for the tip!

  5. I’ve been meaning to respond to this for quite some time now, since Pablo is one of my favorite labels. I completely agree, the sound quality is excellent. I’ve found a lot of Count Basie lps on Pablo, many of them small group. Of particular note is the recording engineer Ben Sheets. Anything that he’s on seems to go above and beyond.

Leave a Reply

